Welcome to the world of no expression

K Sri Achala
3 min readMay 30, 2020

--

The pandemic of 2020 has not just made our history books thicker. To count, many things have changed in front of our eyes in a way we could never imagine. Actually, I might be wrong to say that we never imagined this.

Contagion Movie poster

Watching the movie ‘Contagion’ on prime, I did doubt why people always think that a war is the next big thing to be careful about and not a freaking nanoparticle which is dead unless it gets into a living body.

While I sat on my desk trying to ponder over how a virus can make the evolutionary choice of humans’ survival on earth, I got lost in the memories I made so far and god! How much I wished they lasted longer the same way! We all do. That one extra mile your friend made you walk at night, those late-night munches at the canteen, binge-watching with friends, those impromptu trips, plans and parties, and many more we cherish…

When I think of how I cannot hug my best friends first thing I see them after a long long time, it reminds me of a dialogue from the beautiful movie ‘Five feet apart’

“ Human touch. Our first form of communication. Safety, security, comfort, all in the gentle caress of a finger. Or the brush of lips on a soft cheek. It connects us when we’re happy, bolsters us in times of fear, excites us in times of passion and love. We need that touch from the one we love, almost as much as we need air to breathe. But I never understood the importance of touch. His touch. Until I couldn’t have it.”

You should watch this movie if you haven’t yet. But remember! You are gonna watch this alone or feet/miles apart, from him/her :,)

Empathy. The feeling of being felt. It keeps you sane. At least that's what Dr. Rosalind Picard thought! She is well known for her research in emotion recognition technology.

The AI technology to detect how happy, sad, surprised, amused, or confused you are by scanning your face and measuring your heartbeat! Now can this technology work with the masks on? Uh oh. You gotta read those eyes!

Hey Apple! you better build that tech. Cause I didn’t buy a quote-unquote iPhone11 to unlock it with freaking passcode! (FYI latest versions have no fingerprint technology :,( )

This baby got me in the iPhone ad 🥺

If you are wondering… the baby couldn't make it through either XD

Learning sign language could have been better than talking under a mask only to get your glasses foggy. (people with spectacles can get it! Such second world problems :P )

But time and again I need to find myself a silver lining around every dark cloud.
“Coz It’s not all that bad okay!”
Am I already done with the sad part!? no(smh), it’s just that it’s never-ending anyways. Also, to keep this short to a two-minute read :)

Now buckle up to see the expressionless faces all around! See ya. Until next time!

--

--